Mollah Nasreddin, Positivist.

…. I am all for empirical data – I won’t call them ‘facts’ as to me, facts are things you believe in. But that’s a whole ‘nother story. What I was poking fun at was not the empirical, but the Anglo-American physical tradition of empiricism and its philosophical corollary, logico-positivism, and their reductio ad absurdum of the world and everything in it.

Here, I’ll tell you a little story.

One night a passerby came across Mulla Nasreddin searching for something on his hands and knees under a streetlight. He quickly joined him, hoping to find what it was that the good mulla had lost. After a while, Nasreddin gave up, “Ah, it’s no use!”

“But why, Mullah? What is it that you have lost?”

“My house key,” he said.

“But surely, if this is where you lost it, it is bound to be around. When was the last time you saw it?”

“It was about 20 yards thataway,” the Mulla said, pointing to the direction of his house. “I was getting it out of my cloak to open the front door, and it fell out of my hand!”

“But surely,” said the bewildered passer-by, “if that is where you lost it, then that is where it will be. Why on earth are you looking for it here?”

“Well, I did look for it there, but after a little while I gave up and came here, ’cause it’s dark over there and I couldn’t see anything, and it’s much brighter over here.”

Posted by Arash Darya-Bandari

Leave a Reply

